Grandma Pearl

 

Standing outside the old

J.C. Penneys,

Hamilton, Missouri.

Barn-wood face

faded print dress

over a bent frame.

Knee-hose rolled

watches tourists

tying down

genuine Amish buggy wheels

 

 “Now they’ll go stick ‘em

in the ground,” she tells me.

“Somedays it’s better than

a picture show.”

8 Responses to Grandma Pearl

  1. emleedickinson says:

    I really liked this. It’s succinct and warm. Thanks for helping me start my morning!

  2. Scot says:

    emleedickinson
    Glad you liked it!

  3. emleedickinson says:

    Do you write often? I think you must.

  4. Scot says:

    Thanks for the kind comment. I teach some writing in my spare time. I write then. But lately, i have squeezed more in. do you have a site I could add?

  5. gingatao! says:

    Brilliant. Effortless sense of place and character, the slyest of absurdist smiles in the normality, all done with the barest minimum of device. Very cool,

  6. Scot says:

    Thanks Paul for the read!

  7. emleedickinson says:

    I’m new here… you asked if I have a site you could add…. help this illiterate!

  8. Scot says:

    yes to my blogroll. It would be you wordpress address

Leave a Reply

