Retracing Trails…Nunna Daul Tsuny

 

you were a child
on a painted pony
hid with red legends
in the rocks.
Missouri had seen
this before.
smiles changed to dust
trapped in awkward
afternoons
cracked clay hesitation
began your march.  I
wanted to pull you up
sun brown hands
searching my belt
strong legs wrapping
around my own

wanted to tell
you silly things
how our hips would
match up in river birch woods
how we…

as if someone called
for a moment of silence
to honor a nation
I watch you leave
head down
slowly tracing
prints of those before.

8 Responses to Retracing Trails…Nunna Daul Tsuny

  1. gingatao! says:

    Soft footfalls in the silence on the trail of tears, beautifully constructed and tender.

  2. jo says:

    Lovely, really tender, as Paul says, I held my breath reading……and it moves so well, the three parts wonderfully weighted, the central stanza a perfect pivot. Very, very well done, Scot.

  3. Scot says:

    Thanks to both of you…:)

  4. Narnie says:

    Such a swinging mood towards the end although there is still where wonderment turns to wondering. Beautiful and poignant.

  5. cattledog5 says:

    Hi. I really enjoyed your poems. I’m glad you commented on my blog or I might never have read them. It’s so great to find poems I like on the blogosphere. Im gonna add you to my blogroll. thanks again for commenting. Have you had any of these poems published?

  6. Scot says:

    cattledog
    Thanks for the visit. Normally when I do a tag surf or blog search I don’t comment. I did like the style of yours–the easy tone yours had. Thanks for the add–I will do the same. I have had a few published back in the early eighties–then life took over. I just recently puled some out of the drawer–gave them some light and began writing again. Last week I had one of these published online by The Beat in the UK and some other are pending. The link is on this site. Thanks for asking.
    Scot

  7. nochipa says:

    Not much time for me to talk today but I wanted to chime in with my two cents worth and tell you that I really enjoyed this poem and love the very real imagery. Last stanza is especially haunting.

    Nochipa

  8. Scot says:

    Thanks Nochipa
    I appreciate your comments as always.

Leave a Reply

