Hindsight

the perfect sunrise
is hard to hold like tail lights
over the last hill.

(several people on different forums told me to turn the last two lines of the Zen poem into a haiku–well wasn’t that easy–while doing so, it spawned a rash of these to come…)

Morning Lake

trout breaks stillness
starts the ripple pattern to
end on polished rocks.

4 Responses to Hindsight

  1. jo says:

    They are both lovely, Scot, though I cannot disassociate the first from the wider context of that lovely poem (which I prefer, sorry). The image in the second works very well, is very strong.

  2. Scot says:

    I agree with you on the first, but hey.

  3. gingatao! says:

    Great to see those tail ights again. I don’t usually comment haiku, generating silent contemplation being kinda what I thought they were about, I have raged against them many times in the past, but these are lovely,

  4. Scot says:

    Paul
    I too raged against them–fought them–never would do them–but–seems a bit fun now–trying to say it in the form alloted. Must be age! Thanks for comment

Leave a Reply

