Saving Valentines in a Shoe Box


said
you always wanted a love poem
a v-day verse to hold–
they been written
but never sent as
first drafts are not for love
but on all days
you are my virgin
princess
the gypsy slowly
caressing soft curves
the ready to paint sunrise I see
when I leave for work
the strong legs wrapping
around my own searching
for my belt
you are my love
the cool side of the pillow
when I dream
you have cast your shadow
upon my heart and has become
permanent like a Brautigan poem
that brings a smile
you are my blue-mist morning
wrapped in wild white indigo
the stillness on the morning
lake
you are the dust dancing
like confetti at the world series
you are the perfect strokes
of Monet
the color of a Zen dawn
the first angel sent
to that concrete rodeo
so many poems ago
a lovers card
turned up
under

the gypsy moon
you are
my
love
poem.

 

8 Responses to Saving Valentines in a Shoe Box

  1. Tracey says:

    This is wonderful…I particularly liked how you say that ‘first drafts are not for love’. That speaks on so many levels.

    Your poem makes me feel.

  2. Scot says:

    This poem is actual lines from a lot of my previous writes. Nothing really new, but they just fit well into this one. Thanks for stopping in. Hope you return often. I will jump over and visit soon. 🙂

  3. johemmant says:

    Very cool, it works well.

  4. Narnie says:

    This is beautiful Scot – totally. It is perhaps my favourite of yours as it just oozes with regard and wonderment of the woman you love and seems so personal – it spirals with wanting to find the right words, which it succeeds in very well. Paul is right – it is a waltz and a very beautiful one at that.

  5. Scot says:

    Thanks Jo–it all seemed to fit very natural.

  6. Scot says:

    Paul
    It is a “Missouri Waltz”–famous here.

  7. Scot says:

    Narnie
    Thanks for the kind words on this piece–:)

Leave a Reply

