“Hey Bartender, I Got Time for One More Round and a Haiku to go”

So That’s What They Call Blind Drunk

waking up half drunk
coyote dawn slipping out
lost my freakin’ keys

Pissing in a Dirty Urinal

It has come to this
copying for a good time …
Hank sings B-19

12 Responses to “Hey Bartender, I Got Time for One More Round and a Haiku to go”

  1. gingatao! says:

    B19? Lovesick blues? Cold Cold Heart? cool coolhaiku

  2. Scot says:

    or Your Cheatin’ Heart?

  3. johemmant says:

    Great haiku, very sharp, but for me the titles make them.

  4. Scot says:

    You are right–not very good w/o them–:)

  5. johemmant says:

    I never said that, don’t do yourself down 🙂

  6. Scot says:

    I meant you are right about the titles 🙂

  7. gingatao! says:

    I think you’re both right about the titles and the other bits too, and I also agree with me.

  8. Narnie says:

    ‘for a good time’ haha… perfect. He will get writers cramp though? hahah… fab.

  9. cattledog5 says:

    I like this one in particular. You seem like you’re into haiku?

  10. Scot says:

    Matt
    Well it seems so–just got on a kick. Perhaps it is like the flu and will run its course.

  11. Vincent says:

    Very evocative, and you take full advantage of the paucity of words to let the imagination construct . . . Not to mention the delayed effect of some of it. I only just got the significance of “copying For a good time …” and still don’t get the references to Hank (bukowski?) and B19.

    Basho would be envious or perhaps he has reincarnated.

  12. Scot says:

    Vincent
    haha–or perhaps basho would be rolling over in the grave

    Hank refers to Hank Williams Sr. (country music singer)
    B 19 are the buttons pushed to play that sad country song. I appreciate you stopping back in!

Leave a Reply

