Fat Tuesday


two winos
in the alley share
wind chilled
brown bag wine
heads lowered
over a dying fire
giving a silent thanks
for the bounty
they just received.

 

homeless-in-alley.jpg

9 Responses to Fat Tuesday

  1. jo says:

    Scot this is really powerful, takes me right into that alley; stark, simple, very good….really like ‘wind chilled brown bag wine’. I like how all the description is related to the wine not the drinkers…..

  2. gingatao! says:

    Simple, elegant, a beautiful thing made from an unbeautiful thing, artist at work,

  3. JO says:

    Vivid picture loaded with meaning. I like this a lot.

  4. Scot says:

    Jo, Paul, JO- 🙂
    thanks for the comments. I had the title as Thanksgiving, but with a revision–changed it to Fat Tuesday…

  5. Narnie says:

    Have you read Dangerous Parking by… ummmm… oh dammit, gotta google because Im useless with names… hang on… Stuart Browne. It is a fascinating book and more so because it is a telling of his life. He captures the squalor of alcohilism so vividly, so without any frills that you can’t like him, or his characters… or the book to be honest. You can only wonder at what he has created which is car crash fiction – heartbreaking and real. It is one of the few books, where I have actually sat and cried as I read. Im rambling… sorry. You captured the starkness wonderfully and you can see where it sent my mind. Fantastic in its simplicity but as always, I want the story to continue…

  6. Scot says:

    Narnie
    Thanks for the kind comments. No, I have not read the book–sounds interesting.

  7. gingatao! says:

    Holey mackeral. Thanks for reminding me about brevity, that worked bigtime. But I wonder if it one of these bums that unconsciously slipped into my piece, if so, sorry and thanks for that too. Inspire, conspire, weird,

  8. Vincent says:

    I would have preferred Thanksgiving as title and failing that Mardi Gras rather than Fat Tuesday, because I wasn’t alert enough to translate at first. But the body of poem and picture were beautifully matched and the theme a perfect example of your blog’s headlines & title.

  9. Scot says:

    Thanks Vincent
    So does the title work now or do you still have reservations?

Leave a Reply

