Les Souvenirs

we ate lunch next to a bag lady
at Burger King on Powell Street
wearing a gray beret
wrapped in old wool scarves
she spoke of Bastille Day
fine wine and Paris
generations ago.
in a French accent she told
my wife, love him or I will
steal him away
overstuffed bags pulled
close to her feet
we watched her slowly eating
her fries making
every minute last
wondering who punched
the ticket
that brought her here

10 Responses to Les Souvenirs

  1. Scot,

    I can see her, feel her, hurt for her, maybe even pity her. Your words reached me and made me a little sad. Couldn’t any of us be here someday?

    Thank you,
    Miss Demure Restraint

  2. johemmant says:

    Very moving piece. So poignant, the love him or I will steal him away. You always get the balance just right in such pieces…….

  3. cattledog5 says:

    I like this. don’t really have any advice about it. Just like it.

  4. enigma says:

    That is sweet.

  5. Paul says:

    Beautifully hidden soft music throughout, a sadness but with a smile from her too, beautiful,

  6. Sumedh says:

    The deep imagery is mind blowing, in the least!

  7. Scot says:

    Thank you all for commenting on this– if you have time–go by and see Vincent (on my blogroll) you will be glad you did.

  8. Narnie says:

    One of the first pieces I read by you had the modern voice within a certain poignancy. For me, that is almost your trademark expertise. A thoroughly modern poet whose work I always enjoy reading.

  9. Scot says:

    Thanks Narnie

  10. JO says:

    I love this. Such color and force in its images.

Leave a Reply

