wtfwjd

in_homeless1.jpg

                                                              2008

homeless ignored
still sleep in doorways
blue suits and high heel
pumps carry
starbucks to the office
like the holy grail
catching the last drop
of blood drained
from the 36th
floor

college girls
murdered from Aruba
to Alabama
gunshots ricochet
the halls of academia
to spring break
in Panama City
shot glasses
emptied
wet breasts
judged a winner

substitute Iraq
for nam–
never WMD but
lots of DOAs
lessons learned:
human remain pouch
$47.74
army burial flag
$195.00
despite the media
nothing is
priceless


20 oz iced latte
$3.40

flower-in-rifle.jpg

16 Responses to wtfwjd

  1. enigma says:

    Hi Scott, things arent nessesarily so grim, their are a lot of people and big corporations working on these problems…on the side of my blog I list some of them, some of these groups I am a member of, and on the board of, and we DO make a change.
    great poem BTW

  2. Paul says:

    Brilliant, pulls us in, presents the situation, the thought in a perfect way, clear and resonating with compassion, a kind of gently undeniable poem from its use of widening focus, active and real and of its time, perfect, you’re a master of the craft,

  3. johemmant says:

    excellent poem, if depressing…….homelessness if a personal beef of mine too, there are so many in England and there is no excuse, it sends me into a rage…..and so many of them are runaways, escaping abuse and finding themselves having to work in the sex trade…..so wrong while fat cats get fatter.

  4. chilling poem, accurate portrayal of some of the worst aspects of today’s society but enigma also does make a good point….

  5. QuoinMonkey says:

    Haunting poem. The images go well with it. The homeless – there are some who are trying to make change in that area. I admire them for that. I often feel I don’t know what to do at the individual level, walking down the street in my own city. So I keep writing.

  6. Scot says:

    QM
    it is true some are trying, but most look the other way or take another route to avoid.

  7. nochipa says:

    Scot,

    Whatever the topic, grim or light, you are a master with words and I greatly admire your ability to weild them with percision. And of course, your words speak of facts. Let me go on record as saying…great job.

  8. Scot says:

    Nochipa
    Thanks for stopping in and the kind comment–welcome back

  9. Scot says:

    enigma–thanks for the comments. I guess it’s all perception. WE have people and groups involved, but they are small in number compared–big corps here–may pay lip service–it is all a marketing ploy—they really don’t give a crap.

    Paul
    I could have added a lot more –will save those–maybe narrow it down–like Obama raised 55 million last month alone for his campaign–unreal–and people are dying on the street. I suspect we spend more on animal rescuses than human-…………………………………………………………….done

  10. Scot says:

    Jo
    indeed!

    CGP
    Thanks so much for the comments–keep up the good work!

  11. leigh lear says:

    this was very poweful. nicely done.

  12. Scot says:

    leigh
    thanks for stopping in

  13. cattledog5 says:

    For me, the last stanza of this poem is where I think you really start to find what you want to say. Just my 2 cents. Also I have always loved that picture with the college kid putting flowers in the rifle. I like it because I have mixed emotions about it. I mean I’m sure he was doing what he thought was important, but he just looks like such a douchebag.

  14. Scot says:

    matt
    thanks for the comment–actually as you can see there is three things going on but it is all tied together at least in my mind that is all three are somewhat ignored or at least taken in stride…

  15. JO says:

    I’m so taken with the first stanza. The holy grail simile is so colorful and effective. Excellent poem.

  16. Scot says:

    Thanks Jo–really wasn’t sure if the title was a bit too much?

Leave a Reply

