In Spite of Ourselves…John Prine

6 Responses to In Spite of Ourselves…John Prine

  1. jo says:

    Wow, being English this really made me smile. A very sweet song, Scot, and very country!

  2. Scot says:

    sing this with my wife–makes us smile too–more truth than fiction 🙂

  3. Bob says:

    For the last nine years, I’ve carried this CD in my car so I could listen to it on a daily basis. I also have five or six other John Prine CD’s… in my opinion, he’s one of the best songwriters of the last twenty years. Listen to “Illegal Smile” some time… I think you’ll like it. May John live forever…

  4. Scot says:

    Hey Bob–I have been listening to him since the 70s while at SMSU. I had his albums then–somehow that stuff disappears. Illegal Smile is a favorite–hell all of them are.

  5. Bob says:

    Yea, you’re right… I don’t think the man ever wrote a song that wasn’t a masterpiece. He has a unique ability to reach down and capture the heart and soul of America and make us pay attention, at least for a little while, to something important or revealing about ourselves. With your permission (and giving you credit for it, of course), I’d like to steal the video and put it up on my site. I’d like to share it with my readers, as well.

  6. Scot says:

    you bet—there are a bunch more on You Tube–some back in the 80s

Leave a Reply

