All-Around Cowboy

old-blue.jpg

after the rodeo
at Cottonwood Falls
we drank beer
out of my Stetson
danced on brick streets
to Bob Wills
the Texas swing
leaving my hat on
after too many longnecks
we made love
beside my old truck
like I was the last
cowboy on earth.

15 Responses to All-Around Cowboy

  1. A fun read ,and great write.

  2. Scot says:

    thanks terry for stopping in

  3. I could smell the hay and the BBQ.

  4. You take me back to another time and place in my life. He was an “all-around cowboy” too.

    Miss D

  5. RuckyStrike says:

    Sometimes I feel like cowboys faded away with Old Hollywood… but then I listen to Lyle Lovett and it keeps a little hope alive.

  6. Eric1313 says:

    I have to say that “the last cowboy on earth line is about as evocative a line as I’ve read in a long time.

  7. Paul says:

    yeehah! beer music love, perfect,

  8. Scot says:

    Rodger–it was a time.

  9. Scot says:

    Miss D
    Hope that was a good one, thanks for dropping by.

  10. Scot says:

    RS
    they are still out there…liked your flash–don’t be a stranger

  11. Scot says:

    Eric
    thanks Eric–you really need to write more.

  12. Ali says:

    Imagery. Beautiful as always. I’d kills for a memory like this. You are a doing a wonderful job of bringing us into the street with you. Without disturbing you, of course 😉

  13. johemmant says:

    big smiles, good one

  14. Bob says:

    How many folks, these days, understand longnecks or Pearl? I can remember a time in Houston that if you didn’t drink Pearl, people didn’t get too close to you. Great poem, Scot, it brought back a lot of memories.

  15. Scot says:

    Jo
    Hey Bartender,
    set up another round of smiles 🙂

    Ali
    Thanks for the kind comments.

    Bob
    This rodeo was about a sixpack south of Topeka–back in the day mind you.

Leave a Reply

