Beating a Dead Horse…or close to it.

Do poets have egos or just a sense of humor?

Well, I had heard this from Paul, but until it jumps in bed with you and puts its cold feet against your back–you don’t really pay attention. I have only been at this word slinging thing a few months and the poems I have sent out were accepted except the baseball poem sent to Mystery Island for the upcoming Book of Balls. He had enough baseball poems. Anyway, the process is a bit slow, and I understand that most of the online publications are a labor of love and accomplished in spare time–at least that is my take.

The other night I sent some poems off–perhaps my best so far to a highly recommended mag a fellow blogger had suggested a couple of months ago. She is a fantastic writer and well published and from reading their home page–this publication had a great sense of humor. Perfect fit.

I received a reply the next morning.

Well, that was fast. I wonder how many they are going to publish?

None.

Rejected.

They googled me and discovered I was hiding my stuff on line.

Huh?

I found out that some editors have a policy–if you post a poem on your blog, they will not accept it for publication as it is considered published and who wants to read a poem or publish it for that matter that has already been on a blog as famous as mine. I am all over the internet, she said! Heck, 10–20 people have already made comments on these poems. But I am not bitter. Such things tend to make us creative.

I am new to this game, so you learn something new everyday, I thought. No big deal, I sent them to another mag and got a positive reply two hours later.

About that same time, I received a second email from them saying they wanted me to send any of my other poems…they had never rejected such good blah, blah, blah, but they had a policy. But, they want my stuff.

I said well most of mine are online that I would care to send, but when I write some more I’ll let you know. I guess I can’t post anymore poem thingys here if I want to build my credits and be widely published. Maybe I will have to post them under a pen name with a picture of have my face or maybe with a fake title. There has to be more than one way to skin a google cat.

So, will I send them some new stuff? Haiku Sonnets have been good…hmm.

It’s funny what triggers a poem.

dead-horse.jpg

 

 

 

27 Responses to Beating a Dead Horse…or close to it.

  1. johemmant says:

    Well as I said it’s a ridiculous policy, absurd. Glad you got a result though. ‘There has to be more than one way to skin a google cat’……..love this 🙂

  2. aprille says:

    Nice! You’re very clever with words and I’m sure you’ll come up with the perfect witty retort to send in for publishing.

  3. Had the same experience about a year and a half ago with the L.A. Times Sunday Magazine. They were interested in several of my short stories but then they discovered — oops — that the stories had been “previously published” online and suddenly the editorial line was “Nice try but no cigar.”

    Welcome to the club, Scot. We will send out your membership card directly.

  4. Bob says:

    Scot, I think you’re going to discover that most of us who ‘publish’ our work on our blogs are folks who’ve been rejected so many times for so many reasons that we no longer even bother with the effort of trying to convince print publications of our viability.

    That being said, I wish you success. You’re good, my friend.

  5. Paul says:

    Yes, life goes on. Here’s an interesting ‘nother question. Why publish poems in online journals? When you put a poem in your blog it gets read by a dozen or so people, how many people read epoetry journals? I suspect with most of them, only the poets who are in them. I am flat out reading all the cool stuff in blogs. You say ‘building up your credits”, but I’m not sure that epoetry journals will count for much in terms of credits for getting further, but then I know next to nothing about the whole thing. Anyone can make an online poetry journal and ask for submissions and get lots of hits from aspiring poets and then act like an ‘editor’ accepting and rejecting from on high and making rules and so forth, yes I guess the question becomes, since their readership is less than you could get in your blog, is being published in a epoetry journal worth the time and trouble, do book publishers care? Is there some other benefit? Anyway, I don’t know, just thought I’ld ask.

  6. Scot says:

    Life does go on–I am not bitter a bit, just shaking my head–well maybe pissed. I understand–“your crap’s no good, or we don’t publish that kind.” But, policy is just that. Well, you may have something about readership–I have 98 views today and it is 5 in the evening. I had 169 last Sunday–so I average a hundred a day–what is better? I figured a haiku sonnet will terminate this policy rejection…that is coming next up…

    Hey Paul–I think some Brautigan flash fiction—nothing like a little Richard to bring one out of the haikuschmaiku.
    And paul says–“cool bananas”

  7. Scot says:

    Bob
    Heck I was talking online pubs–maybe little print mags–I have a couple in University Presses–Lit mags. As good as you pen is–it is just finding the market–big market for flash fiction–what they say.

  8. Well I edit an online poetry journal that gets pretty good readership and I’ll accept poems that have previously been published in a blog. There are good reasons for editors in general not accepting previously published, but counting anything in a blog as previously published could be stretching the definition a bit. There again, some individual poets blogs get better readership than some hard cover poetry journals. Online poetry journals don’t count for as much credit as do hard copy journals in terms of building up a reputation, but they can help build a readership.

  9. Scot says:

    Rodger
    I guess so–well I will wait on the card–One “T” in Scot, but you got that right. One editor thought I misspelled by name and added another T in her reply.

    So this is the –Nice but no Cigar Club–and here I am with a new humidor.

  10. Scot says:

    Aprille
    You know me too well 🙂

  11. Scot says:

    Jo
    yep, that was so yesterday

  12. Scot says:

    Craft Green Poet
    I agree about previously published–understand that ok. Thanks for the comment–makes sense. 🙂

  13. socratesoul says:

    South Park rulezzzzzzzzz xD

    I have never submitted my poetry to be published anywhere because I don’t know of any reputable publishers who would actually be interested. Basically, I’m afraid someone is going to steal my work. Although I suppose posting my work on a public blog is just asking for someone to steal my poetry. Hmmm…

    Plagarism and publishing.

  14. I just couldn’t understand the venerable LA Times telling me they were interested in publishing my stories and then considering them as “previously published” since they appeared on a web site. “Print” and “electronic”, two different mediums entirely. Further, the submission came with the strong recommendations of two authors that the LAT is fond of: Diana Wagman and John Shannon.

    The rationale, at least where print publishers are concerned, is that if the consumer can read something for free online why would they want to pay to have the same content? Well, gee, fellas, maybe here’s your answer …

    … I published my true crime book, “Long Time Money and Lots of Cocaine”, through Lulu over two years ago. Every month, excepting September, I sell between 5 and 10 copies. At $17.95 before S&H. In trade paperback format. Now, from the Lulu storefront the buyer has a much cheaper option: $6.95 for an electronic download. To date I have only sold THREE electronic versions. Why? Simple, stupid. People want that tangible object in their hands.

  15. I should’ve said “excepting December”.

    True cime does not sell at Christmas.

  16. Paul says:

    Cooool, oh. now I can’t say it, that is a cool discussion there, should be more of it, great positing of the post. I was thinking three writers every bloggerwriterthingyperson should know, yes Sir Richard of the Brautigan, Jorge Luis Borges and Italo Calvino. They all write short short brilliant prose, easily accessible to most any reader without sacrificing any intelligence and maintaining a consistent creative aesthetic. They would be famous bloggers. Or would they? Would the brilliance of their writing be overlooked because it so obvious when just looked at, too subtle for this flash bang hit me again audience. Oh and of course, none of them were particularly good at social networking, Rage on Scot Young, legend poet of the internet, inventor of the haiku sonnet, soon to have his own wikipedia, if I and others have anything to do with it. Credits? We will invent our own, the past is gone, the world and all its potential reborn everyday,

  17. I am compelled to add Raymond Carver and Charles Bukowski to any list of minimalist writers.

  18. Scot says:

    socratesoul:

    I never worry about that..there are ways to protect it–jump over to Craft Green poets site–she has lots of info there. You have some good stuff/clever stuff/ and a gift ands wit for the understatement. It is just getting every word right.

  19. Scot says:

    Rodger
    Thanks for the insight. I registered at lulu awhile back and uploaded a couple of poems–might get to it–where are yours sold/marketed from–your site or?

  20. Scot says:

    Paul
    Thanks man–BUT I did not invent the haiku sonnet–joe felso ( pen name) means Joe Blow–on my blogroll gets that credit–go read some of his–he is an artist and teacher up Chicago way. Nice man. I just gave it my voice. He has commented here a couple of times. You area hoot my down under brother . Do you say “hoot” down there?

  21. Scot says:

    Rodger
    I would add Bukowski and for some dumb reason I had to google Carver–and read the Dog Dies. Guess what his stuff is hid on the internet–Yeah, I would add him too.

    Hey Rodger–I didn’t build an ark but I did write some humorous Haigas after taking pictures of the flood here–well not real funny–

  22. There’s not a heck of a lot of Carver’s material available on the web. “Your Dog Dies” is my favorite Carver poem and “Kindling”, a short story posthumously published in “Esquire” can be found on the WWW. His best short story collection is “Cathedral”, I believe.

    The storefront for “Long Time Money and Lots of Cocaine” is here:
    http://www.lulu.com/content/130126

    I’ve had a lot of success with Lulu. They pay my royalties on time every month. Very dependable POD publishers.

  23. Scot says:

    I will check that out

  24. nectarfizz says:

    I was not aware my poetry is not invalid for publication..ah me..guess I will just have to wait for them to pay me to write them before I write them..that way they have a chance of catching me before I hit post…(or not)

  25. nectarfizz says:

    I meant Now invalid…dern it.

  26. Scot says:

    nectarfizz

    It is with some online zines–not all and I don’t think a majority…

  27. Jd Webb says:

    Your blog is cool

Leave a Reply

