After a Beer with Brautigan

Brautigan and I just left Vesuvios and stood leaning against the building positioning City Lights as a wind break. It was a convenient structure for blocking the wind.

Hey, how do you come up with your material” I asked.

“Huh?”

“Your poems where do they come from?”

“Dunno” He said.

With his pea coat collar pulled up and leftover beer clinging to his mustache, he squinted and pointed to the street.

“See that man over there? With his hat on he’s five inches taller than the taxicab.”

“What, that guy doesn’t have a hat on.”

“Hmm.” He began carefully kicking a small pile of cigarette butts.

“Look how ugly these are.” He said.

I lit a cigarette and it started to rain in California. We watched the rain gently trickle down the alley wall and drip in haiku patterns without titles ending in small pools.

“Hey man, have you ever been trout fishing?”

14 Responses to After a Beer with Brautigan

  1. Paul says:

    That is nice, all in the detail like a Brautigan, and my favourite bit is that question mark, these are? gives the rising inflection, the moment of selfdoubt after the missing hat, very sweet,

  2. johemmant says:

    Yes, Paul just hit the nail on the head, I noticed that too…..adn I love the new line about haiku patterns without titles. Great, really great…….him/you.

  3. Funny. Just a few hours ago I received a “care package” from my friends at City Lights, tons and tons of books, of course, and a T-shirt with that famous photo of authors gathered in front of the legendary book store, Brautigan in a white cowboy hat standing to the left of Allen Ginsberg.

  4. BTW, it’s Vesuvio plural, not Vesuvio’s

  5. Scot says:

    That ? was a mistake

  6. Scot says:

    Rodger
    cool–The Last Gathering–got that as my avatar/photo. So lmk does this work–you write these well…

  7. Scot says:

    Paul
    I may have got the dead horse before the cart–in the So you want to be a poet–it refers to poets seeing things that aren’t there. Brautigan wrote a haiku about the man being five inches taller with a hat on….the other charatcer noticed he wasn’t wearing one…he also had someting on cigarette butt…not really a very universal piece…

  8. Incidentally, Scot, just before I left North Beach in November I saw Ferlinghetti read from “Poetry As An Insurgent Art” at City Lights. It’s a good book but, oddly, I don’t own a copy. I’ll have to take care of that.

  9. Scot says:

    It is not bad–it has lots of good statements re: poetry. It is one that I can pull out every so often and find something new.

  10. nectarfizz says:

    Is it weird that I actually got the hat comment and chuckled?
    Just saying.

  11. Scot says:

    nectarfizz
    welcome–
    must be a student of brautigan…

  12. davidrheins says:

    Nice to see Brautigan hasn’t been totally forgotten. While Trout Fishing In America seems like a million years ago — what a quaint and naive nation we were back in those heady hippie days. My favorite RB poem was ‘The Pill Versus The Springhill Mine Diaster.” :

    When I look at you
    it’s like a mine disaster
    I think of all the people
    lost inside of you

    Thanks the post

  13. Scot says:

    david
    yeah, I liked them all–that was a good one–still have the book

  14. nectarfizz says:

    Actually not a student of brautigan..but I am thinking I like him and will be soon. (grin)

Leave a Reply

