Darfur Equinox

–HaikuSonnet

it’s raining as I
sit here with a stash of two
buck chuck’s finest wine

we drink in paper
cups celebrating when the
sun sits directly

at the equator
a world away we ignore
rape, torture, murder

a movement of time
a Darfur fast march to death
ignored genocide

while we buy organic sprouts,
wine at Trader Joe’s

darfur-dedath.jpg

14 Responses to Darfur Equinox

  1. Whoa! I liked this when I first read it last night but it’s even stronger with that terrific and disturbing image, Scot.

    P.S.: Don’t forget that I’ll be running the Brautigan haiku at Shotgun. Probably tomorrow.

  2. Scot says:

    thanks Rodger–I have this open over layed in bold white letters over this poem, but didn’t fit quite right here in the space.

  3. Bob says:

    Powerful, Scot… and outrageous. We spend a quarter of a trillion dollars in a Middle Eastern abomination while we whistle and turn our heads to genocide. I guess Darfur is just unfortunate that they have no oil. Very sad commentary about the richest nation in the world. As Peter, Paul and Mary said, “When will they ever learn?”

  4. johemmant says:

    brilliant, not a word to many, it really hits home…….Bob is right, it’s all about oil, disgusting. Where did that image come from?

    (And on a sidenote, how utterly bizarre, I wrote a poem yesterday about holidaying in Nepal and turning your eyes away from extreme poverty, drinking cold beer, I was going to post it today, maybe I’ll leave it a while 🙂 it’ll look like I ripped you off, or I could link to yours I guess, oh well, there’s only so much creativity out there 😉

  5. Paul says:

    Brilliant, all you skills turned outward, craft with purpose and passion and intelligence, active art alive in the world, burning, fantastic,

  6. Scot says:

    Jo
    naw go ahead and post it—link would be cool. The image came from google/darfur death– you know people have been protesting this for 4-5 years but the bandwagon is not just there–I suppose oil is one of the political reasons–a few others.

  7. Scot says:

    Paul
    Thanks Paul–I was wondering at first if this call was becoming cliche

  8. Scot says:

    Bob
    you nailed it Bob– it is outrageous

  9. ozymandiaz says:

    Wow, that picture is the image I see everytime I see a jewelry commercial. I actually saw a billboard the other day expressing that there is a “new diamond” in town with a picture of a diamond with a cowboy hat. The billboard also stated that it was a “christian” operated store. Yea, christanity and diamonds…
    I laughed my ass off.

  10. Scot says:

    CGP
    Thanks for reading and the kind comment

  11. Scot says:

    Oz
    that billboard is crazy stuff–wonder what that ad campaign cost?

  12. Rachel says:

    POWERFUL! I love the idea that the point of view is from you looking at other humans (Americans) that forget about all the abuses that are happening in our world. It’s a rough criticism on us. We should be helping and advocating for others instead of drinking the finest beverages and shopping at extravagant stores. And you put it all in a Haiku! Bravo. It inspires me even more.

  13. Doug McCulloch says:

    Scott, I’ve never visited this blog before, and to be completely honest, I’m not a big blogger so I may be going about this all wrong. Anyway, I really like the above poem, “Darfur Equinox.” I’m a grad student in music composition at the University of Hawaii and am working on a piece for symphony orchestra that is about exactly what your poem is speaking about. Yahoo is my homepage for my internet, and everyday the “big news” that pops up is all celeb news; standing in the grocery line at the store is no better, every magazine riddled with ridiculous nicknames for celebrity pairs and pointless feuds (always between actresses, not actors, by the way). Anyway, I don’t want to go into a diatribe. I mostly wanted to ask you for permission to use your poem as the program notes for my piece. I looked at the link on the page for Creative Commons and I believe I understand how it all works, but I wanted to double-check with you anyway. Sorry to do this here in the public forum, but I’m not sure how to send individual messages.

Leave a Reply

