Get Off the Blog, Haiga. After yesterday, we need a little humor.

flood-haiga1.jpg

Brautigan said, “it’s raining somewhere programing flowers…”

This Brautigan poem was introduced to me in high school–perhaps somewhat responsible for all of this.

Who was the first poet you discovered?

10 Responses to Get Off the Blog, Haiga. After yesterday, we need a little humor.

  1. johemmant says:

    Very droll and very applicable here…… nope sun is shining for once. I couldn’t get the Brautigan poem to come up sadly.

    As for firsts, first poem I remember aside from constant nursery rhymes was Eliot’s Macavity. First poet, probably Frost or Hardy (whose Darkling Thrush still sends shivers down my spine)……..first one I jumped all over and read everything of — Hopkins I think. I read so much, still do, it’s still a bit of a blur, but I can see myself now sitting at my desk in J2 listening to Mrs Laverty reading Macavity.

  2. johemmant says:

    Nope I cannot get it to work, it just loads a blank blue page……shrug. I will google the poem to read it. Ha I read it elsewhere and LOVED it……especially

    I think : Thank God, it’s you, baby, this time
    instead of me.

  3. Paul says:

    Haha, very appropriate, it is pouring rain here this morning, I got a post somewhere about Irene Gough, One Sunday Morning Early, my first book of poetry,

  4. Pris says:

    Oh my……sometimes we’ve got to laugh.

    Okay, first poet to influence me. I was 13. That’s important. I read The Highwayman by Knowles and that hooked me. Even memorized it so I could say it to myself any time I wanted to hear it. The thud of a young girl’s heart as he dies like a dog in the moonlight.

  5. Bob says:

    Scot, my heart goes out to all of you in that part of our state. We were fortunate enough to be spared.

    My first (and only, insofar as I can remember) exposure to poetry that really affected me was The Bard of Avon. His sonnets spoke to me, even then, and I think I was a freshman in high school. This led to the Romanticists; Keats, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley, et al.

    And, no… it didn’t help get me laid, damn it.

  6. Scot says:

    Hey Bob
    they can only get you so far, buddy!

  7. harmonie22 says:

    Hello there. Great blog, excellent poetry too- saw you at gingatao’s place. Love your header too: I’ve always said “artists: we are the light before the shadow.” I scribble a bit too. Wrote my first poem when I was 13. It was TS Eliot though, that reeled me in, a couple of years later. with his lovesong of alfred j. prufrock.

    Cheers.

  8. Scot says:

    welcome harmonie–come back often–thanks for your post

  9. My first poetry was a book my grandparents gave me when I was about 9. It was poetry suitable for young children by some of the great poets. When I was a secondary school the first poets i really grew to appreciate where Thomas Hardy and Wilfred Owen.

Leave a Reply

