At Oklahoma Christian College

when asked to go
I had visions
of keg parties
maybe
getting lucky
with this
sweet smile
brunette
jumped at this
road trip

but OCC
was a haven for
half-assed evangelists
in training
not to covet thy
neighbor’s wife
but broadcast journalism
and Jimmy Swaggert 101

on stage
the hidden fan
blowing
the pages of the bible
held above the head
marching–preaching
dabbing the sweat
with white linen
stage left
stage right
dramatic
intervention

everything that
wasn’t holy
was red
the basketball team
the doors
the town
was red
though not necessarily
painted
even the damn
dirt was red

I stuck out
long hair
beard
sandals
with the tire
tread soles
believed by me
to be some
Nazarene
knock offs
all forbidden
at OCC

I made them
nervous as I
tapped my Marlboro
on my watch

eyes fixed on me
like the last supper
wondering
as they were
when this
trip
would all
be over.

13 Responses to At Oklahoma Christian College

  1. johemmant says:

    Brilliant, one of your best, so much here, so well done.

  2. Paul says:

    The best thing about this poem a day thing is that it is going to make a great natural selfportrait over the month cos you will have to find angles and events and images everyday and they will have to come naturally from you, cos you wont have time to get too new and crafty and complex, this is a good example of that, natural, smooth, genuine voice, not overly made, so it is very revealing of the fact that you are a fair dinkum, natural born Poet, cool,

  3. Bob says:

    Isn’t it amazing what we do to torture ourselves? I’m surprised you stopped short of the customary self-flaggelation exercises held in the commons… been there done that, my friend. At least you were smart enough to see the folly of your enterprise and cease while ceasing was good. Some of us took a little longer. Enjoyed this very much, Scot.

  4. Scot says:

    Jo
    Glad you liked it

  5. Scot says:

    paul
    I learned some new Aussie slang today–but you are right on the angles,etc.

  6. Scot says:

    Bob
    thanks Bob–stayed out of the commons 🙂

  7. enigma says:

    G’Day Scott
    Gosh, what a great piece of writing, everything else was painted red, love it..

    Paul is right, its fair dinkum,

    I,m just your average sheila, but your a bloody good bloke ,Scott ,never a bludger with your writing.

    I love having a Captain Cook at your blog, other peoples writing can be as dry as a dead dingoes donger, and I am continually gobsmacked by what you say,theres no kangas loose in the top paddock with you, and no flies on you either, Matey.

    You writing always makes me grin like a shot fox, and let me finish by saying that that was grouse, Mate. I really hope you are making a quid from this spiffy writing.

    “Link to translation below”
    http://www.koalanet.com.au/australian-slang.html

  8. Scot says:

    Enigma
    whew–homework! Thanks for stopping in–appreciated.

  9. nectarfizz says:

    Utterly wonderful depicition..your imagery is spot on..makes me heart happy to see poetry done so wel.

  10. nectarfizz says:

    Spelling monster has me looking at that last post in shame..sorry for the many mistakes..typing in the dark does that to one.

  11. Scot says:

    nectarfizz
    thanks for the kind words on this

  12. leigh lear says:

    amazing, your poetry sucks me in. beautiful.

  13. Scot says:

    thanks leigh!

Leave a Reply

