A Vertical Good-bye Haiku


said
she’d
never
leave
was
until
death
do
us
part
guess
death
knocks
early

12 Responses to A Vertical Good-bye Haiku

  1. Paul says:

    Is it wrong to be smiling over such a sad story? Great title, very cool poem,

  2. Scot says:

    I Don’t think so–depends on what end of the stick you are on.

  3. Bob says:

    I like your technique as well. The vertical arrangement takes the element of time and builds it from the top down (as English speakers would be inclined to do). I wonder what impact it would have had if you’d constructed it from the bottom up? Wonderful, Scot… very thought-provoking… and isn’t that one of poetry’s objectives?

  4. I like this very much, I like haiku that experiment with layout

  5. Scot says:

    Bob
    thanks–I get bored with the same ol’–bottom up? hmm, there should be a place for that!

  6. Scot says:

    Green Poet
    thanks Juliet–Bob may have had a good idea–bottom up–will try that for sure.

  7. I’ll second what Bob said.

  8. johemmant says:

    I think this is hilarious too (I read it second after the top one, so top down ha ha). A truly funny poetry is fabulous (and I’m not talking Pam Ayres, I mean dry, acerbic wit, clever, clever), I’m just reading a guy now, Neil Rollinson, who has some hilarious stuff. Great.

  9. johemmant says:

    Whoops, disregard the a before truly. Sorry, too early to be typing comments.

  10. QuoinMonkey says:

    Nice. I like the format on this one, too. Breaking the mold.

  11. Scot says:

    yeah, I get bored sometimes

Leave a Reply

