Writer’s Block

I dim the lights,
simulate the night
or the end of it—
my best time to
think and write
before the craziness
of the world
seeps in
breaking levees
leaving
a Katrina mess

nothing

wife says write
a happy poem
she grows leery
of unnamed
women in bars
and beaches–
close my eyes
chant
happyhappyhappy
like a leftover
shopping center
Krishna incense
salesman
it is either too late
or too early for
happyhappyhappy

nothing

read Pleasures of
the Damned

figured bukowski
might help
this national poetry
slump mixed with a
downtown bar
Falstaff beer and a
two dollar hooker
two of which
don’t exist

nothing

so, as they yell
last call
lights come
up in this bar
I scribble these
words avoiding
the faces
of ghosts
knowing I might
just be back.

14 Responses to Writer’s Block

  1. johemmant says:

    I take my hat off to you, clever, funny, very well done. I’m loving PoftheD.

  2. Vincent says:

    Oh yes, your writer’s block is a very fertile “nothing”, one to be envied indeed. the sunyatta from which all things emanate, even if fleeing from a kind of torture whose origin may be inside or out, who knows? but which stamps authenticity on the struggle.

    When you mentioned levees I thought at first you were referring to the rising of the Sun (as in the levees and couchees of the Sun King Louis XIV) for you were talking of the end of the night. So I thought that Katrina was your wife, and I puzzled about her mess . . . A later reading straightened it as referring to New Orleans.

    More!

  3. Paul says:

    I thought that too, that is the worse case of writers block ever, its a perfect balanced 4 beat bar, a piece of music, space between each beat which reflects the other but is slightly different as the four beats should be, you are tooooo goooood,

  4. Scot says:

    Vincent
    More from you! I enjoy your notes…and you make mine sound more than they are.

  5. Scot says:

    paul
    see I never noticed what you saw in this until you said it. everybody needs a squires to help them along. and this poem a day was ok when I started and I was four ahead, but is becoming a chore now.

  6. Scot says:

    Jo
    thanks jo–seems what I judge as funny or mocking, my readers view as sad–maybe I should post a podcast—-not a comment on this one…

  7. Bob says:

    Damn, Scott… I’d *kill* to experience block like yours.

  8. Bob says:

    Damn, again… I forgot ‘Scot’ only has one ‘t’. Forgive me…

  9. Scot says:

    Bob
    thanks Bob

  10. Eric says:

    Scot, as said above, well done. Your piece here has a lot to offer and needs that second and third reading…wonderful.

    I am happy to have found you site and look forward to delving deeper in the recesses of what you have to offer.

  11. Scot says:

    Thanks Eric
    glad you found this

  12. ybonesy says:

    What Bob says. Great writer’s block, indeed!

  13. JO says:

    Your block is fabulous, sir!

  14. Scot says:

    Ybonsey & JO

    it is a struggle believe it or not–thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

