Wheel of Fortune

I work in this
pile of shavings
carving Santa Clauses
from cedar and bass
like Pinocchio’s dad
I send them out
in the off season

somebody’s wife
will buy it in June
and when she gets
home
will say “look
honey
what I
bought”

somebody’s husband
who just had
an afternoon affair
with her best
friend will look
at the piece of
wood held
by the
Vanna White
hands
and not
be able
to solve
the puzzle

8 Responses to Wheel of Fortune

  1. Paul says:

    That’s a complicated and intriguing poem, I ended up feeling a bit like him. There is an appropriate hollowness, a sense that it could be deconstructed which leads the mind into the poem, and the image is original enough to inspire new thoughts, cool bananas,

  2. johemmant says:

    Yes, I’m puzzling too, Paul is bang on, it does feel hollow and yet it resonates with the emotion of that, if you know what I mean, interesting………words from the poet?

  3. Bob says:

    I doubt he’d realize a puzzle even existed. The key is in the Vanna White hands, I think. Is it past time for him to buy a vowel?

  4. Scot says:

    Jo
    words from life–only thing biographical is carving santas

  5. Scot says:

    Bob-
    you may be right –“I would like to buy an a…”

  6. Scot says:

    Thanks paul–

  7. Sumedh says:

    I was blown awake by this one; brilliant poem…

  8. Scot says:

    Sumedh

    Glad you liked this.

Leave a Reply

