Leaving Downstream

bamboo rod, tied flies
hip boots in a mountain stream
roll cast with the wind
watching you disappear in
a river of wet nothing

8 Responses to Leaving Downstream

  1. Ever read Norman McLean’s “A River Runs Through It”, Scot? A very poetic novella. “Leaving Downstream” brought it to mind.

  2. Scot says:

    No Rodger never did–worth picking up?

  3. Yes, it is. It’s a novella so it’s a quick but poetic read.

  4. Scot says:

    seems like it was a movie too or I may be thinking of something else?

  5. Bob says:

    You just chronicled every Colorado boy’s wish for the weekend. I, for one, thought they’d never end. Thanks for memories of Royal Coachmen and tapered leader on my dad’s Orvis.

  6. Scot says:

    ain’t nothing like it–love tying them too

  7. janetleigh says:

    Yes, this does give one the sense of a scene in “A River Runs Through It” which is a movie. I *think* Brad Pitt was in it. I love fishing – used to boat out to the middle of Rush Lake in MN and sit for hours – didn’t even matter if I didn’t catch anything – enjoyed being out there with my Grandmother just listening to the occasional slap of water made by fish, birds singing, and dragon flies humming by. Um um um – that was the life. Never have done any fly fishing but I reckon I’d like it cuz I dig casting. heh heh

  8. Scot says:

    janet
    yes, sometimes it doesn’t matter when fishing if you catch anything or not.

Leave a Reply

