Falling into a Beach Hammock 90 Minutes from Montego Bay

bouncing
congo bongo drums
float to the horizon
and ride
gentle waves

splash back against the
bob marley marathon
three versions of
natty dread
in one hour
rides the reggae
sunset of wailer
wannabes

redstripe rasta mon
shuffle dances
head bobbing
through
ganga smoke
choppy
guitar
chords
dread locks silhouette
against a 1973
sun sinking behind
clouds and sea
we pass a spliff
hold communion
for Haile
Selassie

15 Responses to Falling into a Beach Hammock 90 Minutes from Montego Bay

  1. kim says:

    Oh did I mention that I saw Bunny Wailer in concert at our local community arts centre in 2007. Fantastic gig so laid back and family.

    Nice… I think I will have to have a day listening to reggae in my office :o)

  2. Scot says:

    kim–
    ah, too cool

  3. Paul says:

    Now I am supposed to be lessening my overuse of this word, but is there any other that could do justice to your reggae sunset poem but, ccooooooooooolllll bananas,

  4. Scot says:

    Paul
    never believe a critic–coooooool bananas is cool beans

  5. Vincent says:

    restripe should be red stripe I think? – Ed

  6. Bob says:

    Scot, I’m not an authority, but I think the Jamaican Board of Tourism should hire you. Also, I think you should leave it ‘restripe’… the elision fits very neatly into the tone and rhythm of the poem. Hell, I was dancing while I read it.

  7. scot says:

    Bob
    got one more coming mon

  8. scot says:

    Vincent
    correct–although it may fir, I will change it–Thanks!

  9. lissa says:

    🙂 i was kind of singing the words in my head while i was reading this.

  10. Scot says:

    thanks for singing lissa

  11. whypaisley says:

    oh that was nice.. and so was its predecessor the haiku below… very tight.. very nice…

  12. Scot says:

    paisley
    thanks for reading

  13. cruxandflux says:

    damn i need a vacation!

Leave a Reply

