In This World

today
I tilled the garden
found a robin’s nest wedged
on the wooden fence
three babies
mouths locked open
pointing to the sky
I threw
the mother worms
watched her feed
watching me

Frost wrote
good fences make
good neighbors
and today I found
a robin’s nest
sitting
on a good fence

7 Responses to In This World

  1. oh that’s lovely, similar sentiments to my recent poem about my parents feeding the blackbirds. I like the reference to Frost and how you’ve used it.

  2. Scot says:

    thank you Juliet

  3. Vincent says:

    A very satisfying poem, nicely ended, reminded me a little of Ferlinghetti. Is it a Turdus migratorius (american robin) or the Erithacus rubecula (european one)?

    Our robins are famous for hanging around generally where human are tilling the garden: perhaps because they think they might have a chance modelling for Christmas cards, but more likely because they hope the human digging will expose worms.

    In my observation their notion of personal space (or rather avian space) is less than that of other wild birds excluding pigeons which hope to be fed in cities.

  4. johemmant says:

    Yes, this is lovely, not sure how I missed it when I stopped by earlier, oh I know, google reader, that’s a downside…..a very delicate poem, perfectly worded.

  5. Bob says:

    This one’s a keeper.

  6. Scot says:

    Vincent
    American Robin–I just happened to till around her nest

  7. Scot says:

    thanks Jo–

    Glad to see you Bob

Leave a Reply

