Corvus

ask them what bird
they would be–
most will say
eagle
hawk
owl
condor
any bird of prey
something
majestic
magical
but
in the dead
of the night
I would choose
the crow
you will wake
to my call
shattering
the stillness
wondering
if the myths
are true

16 Responses to Corvus

  1. kimtblogger says:

    I would choose to be a swallow… no hesitation I have actually thought about this!

    I do like the that a pack of crows is called a murder it always appeals to my sense of the macabre. And of course there is Poe (ravens are crows but not all crows are ravens). Crows are certainly very smart.

  2. Bob says:

    Yes, something very mysterious about this one… appeals to my sense of things that go bump in the night.

  3. johemmant says:

    different but a favourite, communicates something far beyond the words….darkness, magic, just at the edge………I love crows too, for me they are quintessential England, winter countryside, their circling and cawing………

  4. Scot says:

    Jo
    this is part of a bird trilogy..thank you for comment

  5. Scot says:

    I thought you may have that sense…

  6. Scot says:

    Thanks kim–
    didn’t know about the pack thing–interesting.

  7. I like crows, they’re very intelligent birds and I like your poem, specially the ending. Personally I would choose to be a swift, my favourite bird, I’ve written loads of poems about them too, another one will appear on my blog tomorrow! I’ll make sure to catch all the poemsin your bird trilogy!

  8. Pris says:

    Hi Scott
    I seem to find crows everywhere. A fascinating bird in a good poem. I wrote a series of three poems called The Crow Trilogy a while back and I’m sure you’ve heard of Ted Hugh’s book, called Crow. Enjoyed this post!

  9. Scot says:

    Juliet
    A swift–interesting– It is fascinating when th e readers comment on their favorite…thanks for reading.

  10. Scot says:

    Hi Pris
    Glad you enjoyed–and it seems this bird has intrigued many. Thanks for the kind words.

  11. lissa says:

    i really liked this one. its mystery, its flow, its tone. great!

  12. ybonesy says:

    I really love this. I so appreciate the crow. We get a lot of Sonoran Ravens here in the late fall and winter .They fly all around the fields looking for apples that have fallen to the ground. I love the sounds they make, which I know is different from a crow. But I love both ravens and crows.

  13. Scot says:

    lissa
    thanks for the comments

  14. Scot says:

    ybonsey
    nice image in your post

  15. joefelso says:

    I like crows too—they seem to me the prophets of the bird world, unacknowledged but resolute, present and never apologetic.

  16. Scot says:

    Thanks D for the visit

Leave a Reply

