Reunion

I remember my mother saying
we are getting together
because of grandma pearl
she was the organizer
the one who insisted we come
together thanksgiving
to draw names
Christmas to exchange
a $5 package of socks or pjays
with cowboys on them
while the uncles would
verbally jab each other
behind grandma’s back

one year I asked for
a beatles album
grandma got me
the bugs—the beatle sound
piss-poor imitation
of I wanna hold your hand
and she loves you
I ever heard
all the same to her
I acted grateful
yeah yeah yeah
was disappointed
played it once

two years ago
I saw the same album
in a flea market
it made me smile
something about the past
makes you feel good
even if it wasn’t
I almost bought it
four guys with bangs
with nevermadeit
liverpool smiles
I didn’t

got word yesterday
my brother is organizing
our first family reunion
I heard my
mother whisper
in the morning breeze
we are getting together for
grandma pearl

and that’s something
you can’t pick up
in a flea market

9 Responses to Reunion

  1. paisley says:

    oh this is a great piece.. so personal and intimate… i just love it.. the little things that seemingly meant nothing are the tings that end up meaning the most…..

  2. johemmant says:

    Yes, this is a great poem, really held my attention, beginning to end, fluid, strong voice, lots of smiles, some bittersweet.

  3. Scot says:

    paisley
    I believe you are most correct in that observation. Thanks for reading

  4. ybonesy says:

    Really lovely and I love the pace of it. These lines made me smile:

    something about the past
    makes you feel good
    even if it wasn’t

  5. scot says:

    Jo
    thanks for reading

  6. scot says:

    ybonsey
    glad you liked it!

  7. Alexa Cohen says:

    I like the accurate rendering of the reluctance a young person feels when faced with a family meeting…

    P.S. I love The Beatles!

  8. Scot says:

    thanks–glad you liked it–I loved the early beatles–magical

  9. Julie says:

    Beautiful. Your lines breaks are so smooth, and I love the voice. Excellent poem.

Leave a Reply

