Bukowski’s Bluebird Challenge…The Shop by Bob Church

(An Excerpt from The Shop)–

As I looked around the room, the shelves seemed to blur slightly in the low light, as if someone even now turned down a rheostat. Presently, a woman of indeterminate age stepped from behind a shelf and timidly asked me, “Do you see something you like?”…

“I’m just looking, thank you. What do you sell here?” Given the surroundings, the question immediately sounded stupid and I wished I hadn’t asked it.

“That depends…” she shot back, her eyes fascinating as they not quite engaged me head on, “what are you looking for?”

“I see books… are they for sale?”

Bob Church©6/26/08

Bio
The author is not much to write home about. In fact, his existence is an anomaly of nature, proof that God has a sense of humor. It is recommended that you ignore him at every turn.

To read the rest of this story, and to find Bob’s blog click here.

7 Responses to Bukowski’s Bluebird Challenge…The Shop by Bob Church

  1. paisley says:

    this was killer, first read,, and even better the second time around.. excellent work bubba…

  2. johemmant says:

    Really, really good *big smiles*

  3. scot says:

    well done 🙂

  4. Julie says:

    I LOVE IT! I definitely think you’re something to write about!

  5. kimtblogger says:

    Terrific the potential was there for an existential experience but he just left it and went to happy hour! Great stuff… if my bluebird started talking to me I think I would react in the same way.

  6. JO says:

    From the mind of Bob, vintage stuff. I think you and Bukowski could have been great friends.

  7. pieceofpie says:

    oh, left my comment back there at the original post..

Leave a Reply

