my bluebirds by Kim Tairi

there’s two bluebirds tattooed on my hip
they don’t see the light of day except for
fumblings beneath the covers or
when i want to remember
why i spend two hours in the chair
getting a reminder of something lost…
a longing for love etched into my skin

two more bluebirds will be joining them soon
this time on my back
they will sing of better times…
a new love
they wont see the light of day much either
but we will both know why they are there

bio

Kim calls herself a seventeen syllable poet preferring to write haiku over other genres. A recent convert to the power of poetry, her haiku can be found on her blog Angels have the phone box

http://angelshavethephonebox.wordpress.com/

The blog is a mix of poetry posts, Doctor Who trivia and her thoughts on libraries and librarians. Kim most often finds inspiration for her haiku whilst commuting to work by train. She’s the girl with headphones on, listening to music, dancing in her seat, while scribbling away as the muse strikes.

12 Responses to my bluebirds by Kim Tairi

  1. paisley says:

    i think the addition of two new happy bluebirds will be welcome and quite lovely… i am a firm believer in tattooed memories,, and have a couple of them myself… lovely verse…

  2. johemmant says:

    I like this, quirky, different, well done.

  3. scot says:

    kim
    i like this break away from 17 syllables

  4. Julie says:

    Beautiful, Kim. I like your writing. You say much in few words.

  5. kimtblogger says:

    thanks so much every one… such a supportive community…

  6. Scot says:

    Kim
    thank you for accepting the challenge

  7. JO says:

    I like this. Colorful and fun.

  8. pieceofpie says:

    a beautiful sentiment of a loving hopeful future.. even tho no one one can see…

  9. kimtblogger says:

    by the by making a booking for my new tattoo today…. thank you Bukowski, Scot and the fellow travelers on this road…

  10. maurie says:

    kim, Beautiful as always, although the road to a loving hopeful future is often slow,

    my heart was pounding as you shared your journey on this far too often rocky road.

    I have a few of my own, that I would like to share with you. Enjoy my Angle, God Bless.

  11. Miss Tattoo says:

    I adore tattoos and don’t for a minute regret having any of them, I’m currently getting a koi tattoo done down my left arm can’t wait to get it all done! as can only afford smallsittings at anytime. My artist is extremly good and also extremly expensive but, he’s worth it! Great site btw

Leave a Reply

