after Bukowski’s “Bluebird” by Holly Dunlap

June 30, 2008

We all tell stories of bluebirds
stuck in our hearts

as though nests are forever
as though we own our hearts

but the rest of us live in the water
and the bluebird can only fly for so long

before there is no more land
for landing.

bio

My name is Holly E Dunlap. I am a writing teacher and poet living in the Athens, GA area. I also dabble in the sundry–singing, riding mountain bikes, swimming, yoga, hiking, drawing, painting, and probably sitting on my computer way too much since I got broadband. I have an M.A. in CW from U of Colorado, Boulder. I am reading a mentor’s (Marcia Douglas) poetry book right now. She is Jamaican, and I can hear her calming voice as I read her also quite placid poems. Holly can be found blogging and writing poetry by clicking here.

