Stones

I spend my time
collecting stones
large ones for strong corners
flats for the cap
cobbles for plugging
the holes mixed
each day
to hold it strong

I spend my time
collecting stones
working in layers
laying each one to fit
like a puzzle
in this perfect wall
that protects the things
I own
and sometimes own me

I spend my time
collecting stones
set them around this
ancient oak
spreading arching
protects from sun
and storms
built high enough
to dream well under
a marauding moon

I spend my time
collecting stones
my father’s trade
this art passed down
with bleeding hands
fit to chisels
chipping stones
making them fit
sealing it up

I spend my time
collecting stones
but sometimes I
leave one out
of the perfect wall
……..one rock removed just
long enough for you
to slip in
before new mortar
is mixed
I cannot tell you
where it is

run your hand slowly
over the surface
……..there

do you see it?

(my attempt at bukowski’s bluebird challenge)

21 Responses to Stones

  1. lissa says:

    ooh love the feel, flow, and repetition. i thought this was beautiful, scot.

  2. paisley says:

    oh i love this one… i love repetition,, when used correctly,, as you did in this piece,, it is the mortar between the words of stone… oh i love this one…..

  3. Very beautiful and meditative, the repitition suits the subject matter very well

  4. Pris says:

    Hi Scot
    I enjoyed this!

  5. Scot says:

    Thank you lissa 🙂

  6. Scot says:

    paisley
    thank you–it was inspired by bukowski’s bluebird

  7. Scot says:

    Juliet
    thanks for reading–always appreciated

  8. Scot says:

    Hey Pris
    hope things are well–what happened to sketchbook?

  9. Bob says:

    I’m glad you left one stone out, if for no other reason just to let us know that perfection takes many forms. Nice flow, nice pace, nice poem…

  10. I like the repetition and how you build each stanza off of it. It kind of weaves all together. Nice write.

    -Nicole

  11. scot says:

    Thanks Bob-not sure what perfection is?

  12. scot says:

    Nicole
    Thank you for reading–

  13. Bob says:

    Ha! English teacher, eh? heehee

  14. pieceofpie says:

    like the idea of plugging the holes each day to make the perfect wall strong… happiness takes work…

  15. Scot says:

    Bob
    always revise–now.

  16. Scot says:

    pieceofpie
    thank you for stopping in-:)

  17. You have the meter down perfectly. The repetition of “I spend my time collecting stones” is excellent. I can hear the wall being built. Each word is one stone on top of another. And “fit to chisels/chipping stones” is so damned musical!! I’m sorry to dwell on the nuts and bolts of the poem, when I should be commenting on the beauty (and it is beautiful). But I am so fascinated by your mastery of the craft. Excellent again, Scot!

  18. JO says:

    I like the repetitive line, too. Was there more than just the repetition about Bukowski’s Bluebird that inspired you?

  19. Scot says:

    I think that he kept it hid–the theme of it–the image sometimes we have to put up for whatever reason–maybe

  20. Scot says:

    Julie
    Bukowski made this one easy. Thanks

  21. johemmant says:

    You did a really great job with this, really great. I too love the repetition, but best of all is the idea in those stones 🙂

Leave a Reply

