Open All Night

i stumble out of last night
into sunday morning
beating the church
crowd to denny’s
i keep a sweat stained
poem folded inside
my hat under the band

i pull it out sometimes
between night and morning
between a boilermaker
and a grand slam
when I leave alone
and all the sadness
poured in a glass
at closing time
follows me down
the sidewalk kicking
me in the ass

tonight i unfold it
unable to make out
the words
under the sepia glow
of old downtown
i open my hand
let the wind–
an urban blender
of lonesome–
mix the pieces
with old cigarettes
and blowing paper

waiting to cross
the street
i wonder
how many times
something is lost
on sunday mornings
just like this one

20 Responses to Open All Night

  1. Bob says:

    Scot, this should be titled ‘The Great American Gothic’ for what it rewards us with. It forces me to recall (with great distress) the number of times I’ve been *that* guy… and it’s still bitter as I watch the pieces scatter. I like this more than anything else of yours I’ve ever read. This hits home…

  2. Scot says:

    Bob
    I won’t tell you that a smile came on my face when your name popped up in my notifier—if you would have told me this is shit–I would still say thanks–glad to see you back but nice to hear 🙂

  3. Jo Janoski says:

    Oh, this is superb! Love the first two lines. I can taste the street grit between my teeth and feel the winds of vagary blowing.

  4. Scot says:

    thank you Jo–I appreciate it

  5. kimtblogger says:

    hmmm i have stumbled into sunday mornings a few times. The imagery is evocative. I can hear jazz music in the background too!

  6. Scot says:

    well thank you Kim–appreciated

  7. johemmant says:

    Really enjoyed this too. Great rhythm, evoking……..

  8. Sumedh says:

    Wow! Stunning rhythmic imagery…and profound at the same time. I always find your composition and structuring pattern of lines intriguing.

    and all the sadness
    poured in a glass

    – Brilliant!

  9. Scot says:

    sumedh
    thanks man–appeciated

  10. paisley says:

    this is excellent.. i love the almost dream like quality… and it is such a simple thing,, yet so wrought with vision….

  11. Scot says:

    paisley
    appreciated as always

  12. Julie says:

    Yes, Scot. This is so good. You are consistently excellent AND prolific. Damn, I’m jealous! But seriously…this is ready to be published.

  13. Scot says:

    Julie
    Thanks. I sent this to gloomcupboard.com in the UK and they jumped on it. 🙂 The guy said it walked a dangerous line of being like bukowski. I had another friend say it ached of “sunday morning sidewalk” and still another mentioned the jazz feel–and yet another indicate he was pure hank williams–so everyone is right I guess–it is what the reader brings to it–not really me. Hmmm…Hank huh?

  14. Oh, yes. It’s definitely Daddy Hank, the master. Not Junior.

    It does have a jazzy feel, too. Superb.

    It also made me want to cry a little. So it made me think of the blues. I think a lot of people can relate to it, which is another thing I like about it.

  15. Scot says:

    Julie
    nope–not junior at all. Yes, is to create that people can relate to–poetic fiction as opposed.
    I have daddy hank poem with junior thrown in and the video with Sr, and Jr. is fantastic–

  16. Holly D says:

    Sadness following me down the sidewalk kicking my ass…oh yes… I do SO know, and reminds me of “Sunday Morning Coming Down” good ole Johnny Cash…

    There is a reason so many liked this piece…it really does resonate.

  17. nathan1313 says:

    I love where this ends up — Sunday morning loss. I really enjoyed this.

  18. Scot says:

    thank you nathan

Leave a Reply

