naked rain

there is something comforting
about the rain

it stops the world
from spinning too fast

it is being a child again
squishing mud between toes

i sit on this tin roof porch
listen as it slows

reminds of the first
time skinny dipping

and it started to rain
makes me want to dance

born again naked before it stops
if i was younger and

you know

26 Responses to naked rain

  1. lissa says:

    love the mud between the toe image and the connection you created between rain and youth/rebirth.

  2. paisley says:

    oh this was fun…

  3. telmcg says:

    I love the imagery in this poem, especially with the tin roof. “It stops the world / from spinning to fast” is my favorite couplet, though. Nice!

  4. Noah says:

    This is great.

    I totally forgot about the poem I was supposed to give you. Vacation has been an odd one. Tomorrow, I go back home, unfortunately.

  5. Holly D says:

    You know what? I do know…my porch has a tin roof, and we are going through a drought here, so when it does rain..yesss
    And my favorite is that you connected rain to the slowing down of life…it’s so true. And wonderful!

  6. johemmant says:

    Love the rhythm here, very well done. I love rain on tin roofs too, heard it a lot in Hong Kong.

  7. maurie says:

    What a beautiful poem, it is hard not to think back to your childhood days, playing in the mud, feeling that relentless sense of freedom ,and the promise of good things to come.love it.

  8. Scot says:

    lissa
    that was the plan–thanks

  9. Scot says:

    paisley
    thank you–glad to see you

  10. Scot says:

    noah
    no big deal, will have another soon–seems you had some trip

  11. Scot says:

    holly
    haha-thanks for reading

  12. Scot says:

    Jo
    does it slow down there when it rains?

  13. Scot says:

    maurie
    do you have a site–not seeing a link?

  14. Scot says:

    telmcg
    hey thanks for stopping in–glad you liked it–

  15. Bob says:

    Takes me back fifty years to Kentucky and a tin-roof farm shack with a front porch to die for. This is so… Scot… and that’s a synonym for ‘good’, my friend.

  16. Julie says:

    Oh yes…this is beautiful. I love all the images, but I also love the fact that the narrator speaks directly to “you” at the end, that someone who could be the reader or it could be someone who shares that history of skinny dipping in the rain. I love that soft voice, too, that sounds like rain.

  17. nathan1313 says:

    Comfort and a sense of loss at the same time. I love that combination.

  18. Scot says:

    Bob
    thanks bob–glad it could take you back

  19. Scot says:

    Julie
    thanks so much

  20. Scot says:

    Julie
    thanks so much

  21. Scot says:

    nathan
    glad you like this

  22. ybonesy says:

    Boy ever do I know. You nailed it.

  23. Scot says:

    ybonsey
    yes–you understand!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. The tin roof took me back to Malawi, i love the sounds of rain on tin roofs too, but try teaching class with a tropical rainstorm coming down on a good ol’ tin roof above your head…

  25. Should have also said I really like the poem

  26. maurie says:

    Sorry Scott no i don’t have a site, must establish one.

Leave a Reply

