Bukowski Drank Here

(Previously published at Lit Circus @ The Guild of Outsider Writers)


Everybody thinks they’re a goddamned poet. So whatta you write?

Bits and pieces of my life, I said.

Haikus? he belched , swirling the wine in his glass.

Yeah, sometimes, I said

Get off that shit, real poets don’t write that crap. Hell, Kerouac couldn’t even pull it off.

He gave the high sign to the bartender.

Set the kid up too, he said

From the book jackets I’d seen, he looked like Chinaski. Same slicked back hair. Same pock marked face. He toasted, clicking his glass to mine, downing it like a shot, then nodding to the bartender for another. We stared straight ahead at the rows of liquor bottles, repeating this ritual through the remainder of the Frolic Room’s happy hour.

Fuck a haiku, he said, suddenly breaking his silence.

You know, every time some sonofabitch writes a poem about me, I end up in a bar. Hell, I didn’t drink in bars—too damned expensive. Tell them to leave me the fuck alone. I’m worn out bar hoppin’—fuckin’ poets

He spun around on his stool, stood up, cigarette hanging from his lip, adjusted himself and walked out into the Hollywood night.

The bartender, walked over from the other end of the room , placed the tab beside my glass and said,

Hey bud, that’ll be $ 83.50

5 Responses to Bukowski Drank Here

  1. paisley says:

    even better second time around… think i’ll have another…..

  2. JO Janoski says:

    Oh, this is so good!

  3. Julie says:

    Ditto what everyone else has said. I’ve read this one many times and still get a charge out of it. Love it.

  4. Holly D says:

    Yes, having read this before, it’s always good. That’s surely the sign of a good poem. I can see Bukowski too, being that way. All the interviews I’ve seen and things I’ve read…he was pretty much an arrogant fuck. hehe. As one of the editors of a poem sent back to me recently said, “Too self-indulgent.” I mean, c’mon, we’re poets…there’s no such thing as too self-indulgent in our world!

Leave a Reply

