heading north

it is one of those things
you know it’s coming
all the signs are there
like a hurricane turning
making landfall
it’s evacuation time
packing the car
deciding what to take
what to leave
it is looking back
thru a rear view mirror
as the rain erases
the muted image of her
standing in the eye
still throwing yr stuff
out the front door

14 Responses to heading north

  1. paisley says:

    l-o-v-e it!!! we earn more from the rear view mirror than any other field of vision i do believe……

  2. Wow. Carver inspired? Because it’s very Carver-esque and not many poets can work in that milieu believably but you did a great job, Scot.

  3. Scot says:

    Roger
    I know you like him,I have actually only read the one about the dog. I think he died. I feel ashamed. Thanks for the great job!

    Thanks paisley!

  4. Kim says:

    yep… can relate to this one! I particularly like the storm metaphor. I have stood in that eye.

  5. Julie says:

    Ha! Ha! You had me going. I’m getting all female and mushy until those last lines. But I will say I love it. Love it! Send it out!! And yes, it is beautiful, even the end. Exquisite structure, too, and oh what music. Now I’m going to pout if you don’t at least say hello right here, right now, because in the front line of your fan club, damnit.

  6. Julie says:

    I’m in the front line of your fan club. Shit, I can’t even pretend to stomp my foot at you without a typo.

  7. Sumedh says:

    absolutely fantastic imagery, and so succinctly and fluidly worded too!

  8. excellent images, nicely concise too

  9. nectarfizz says:

    very strong versing..the ending caps the piece well.

  10. Scot says:

    Thanks Julie–Hello
    Kim, Sumedth, Juliet, Bekki–your comments are always appreciated

  11. nathan1313 says:

    Great stuff — you really nailed it with the ending.

  12. Christine says:

    I wish I had the gumption to throw someone’s stuff out the door, or to take off in my car with only the image in my rear view mirror. I really like this poem, so human and true.

  13. Holly D says:

    wow…wasn’t totally expecting that ending…yes, like Nathan said, you nailed it! I know this too, that “making landfall”! Argh!

  14. maurie says:

    Love it, what a powerful piece.**

Leave a Reply

