when i whisper your name

the tips
of the bloody moon
light the lamp on
the un wanted
forgotten
words
of a charcoal
night

they run
together
when it rains
onto dali’s canvas
melting
w a r p i n g over

a paper mache
mountain painted
with the shimmer of crow

and sometimes when
i stare deep into
this tomorrow

i whisper
your name

7 Responses to when i whisper your name

  1. I’ve read this a few times now, it’s wonderful, very visual

  2. johemmant says:

    Just got back from my course, I’ve just caught up on what you’ve posted while I’ve been away……it’s all really good (aside from the news re Paul Newman)…….thanks.

  3. Julie says:

    I love the paper mache mountain and “when I stare deep into this tomorrow.” I have also read it several times, and I keep finding new things to love about it. I love Dali paintings, and the poem makes me feel the same way I feel when I look at a Dali. Beautiful mystery, a little bit spooky but in an oh so good way.

  4. I agree with CGP – very visual. And I love the way this left me feeling – bittersweet.

    -Nicole

  5. Christine says:

    I’ve read it a few times over too. So many distinct images, and a powerful ending.

  6. maurie says:

    What a Beautiful piece, love it.**

  7. Holly D says:

    “bloody moon” “charcoal night” and “shimmer of crow”–these wonderful sounds and images are my favorite…stunningly surreal poem

Leave a Reply

