against a falling sun

it is our
sundown tree
silhouetted
against a falling sun
untouched by
bank failures
political failures
market failures
marriage failures
& failures
selling
souvenir postcards
from desolation row

together
we still speak
of love
sitting
on this giant arm
spreading out
reaching out
catching the tears
of angels
touching
the face of God.

7 Responses to against a falling sun

  1. Holly D says:

    I’ve been thinking (and talking) a lot about similar things lately…I was in a restaurant on Sunday with a friend, and this describes our conversation! Neato…
    Also, I love “sundown tree”

  2. ybonesy says:

    Nice. Calms me in spite of all the failures at the moment.

  3. johemmant says:

    Needed this today. Today was a very very bad day. The husband of a friend was beaten to death over the weekend……he intervened because 10 youths were attacking a couple. The world is melting down but then there’s your second stanza.

  4. maurie says:

    Beautiful piece , especially in such troubled times.

  5. Christine says:

    I felt a warmth go through me as I read this poem. A wonderful poem for a warm fall evening in Georgia.

  6. Julie says:

    Man, what an awesome title. It fits in more ways than one. Knocked me out! I also agree with everybody else about the theme. I REALLY needed this poem today. The second stanza calmed me, too. You’re right, though. A sunset, a tree, the one we love, and everything’s gonna be alright.

Leave a Reply

