Song to Myself

you were never
the one i would tell
lies to
just to get
a shot
actually a long shot
at that
to even place
in the same race

at least that is what
i thought the
first
second
third time
i saw you
looking at me

methodist
bedroom eyes
are deceiving

and when i decided
i had seen enough
of the parade
of whores
bores
gold diggers
and exotic dancers
from topeka
no less

i realized that putting
my last buck
on a long shot
was a what the hell bet
but
paid off 50:1
as you cross
the finish line
every
single day

when i walk
to the window
to collect
i smile
and thank God
he was at the track
that day

9 Responses to Song to Myself

  1. poeticgrin says:

    I love “methodist bedroom eyes”…

    Really sweet poem!

    I like the positioning of God and gambling, and from that combination? Love.

    poeticgrin.wordpress.com

  2. dakinle says:

    Wow I really liked this. I just did.

    Dakin

  3. Julie says:

    I really love this, Scot. I agree with poeticgrin completely. Methodist bedroom eyes is an awesome phrase. And the God/gambling theme works well. Powerful ending.

  4. nathan1313 says:

    I like the tone of this one.

  5. maurie says:

    Lovely piece,nice work.**

  6. JO Janoski says:

    I’m taken with the “methodist eyes.” too.

  7. S.L. Corsua says:

    To be sure, adding the word ‘methodist’ to ‘bedroom eyes’ has given the image both depth and impact. And the ending, right smack at the back of my head, whew, what a blow! 😉 Cheers. (And thank you for the visit and comment at my site.)

  8. Pris says:

    Another winner, Scot. I’m riding down your blog on a rollar coaster today and enjoying every minute!

  9. Scot says:

    Thanks all for you kind words!

Leave a Reply

