some saturday night standing lonely next to the flames

i stood half-naked
poked  ashes  embers

of a dying fire

at night it is easier
to see the sparks

tossing tinder
for a resurrection
of flames
i wait making
sure the ashes
return and nothing
is left

4 Responses to some saturday night standing lonely next to the flames

  1. JO Janoski says:

    A sad metaphor for life…I like the detailing.

  2. Julie says:

    My mind is whirling with the story here. I love it when a poem does that to me. You give me the image of the story, and I take it from there. Sad and lonely, half naked next to a fire. Powerful. I love how you end with “nothing is left.” I also love “tossing tinder for a resurrection of flames.” Another powerhouse of a piece.

  3. Scot says:

    thanks all for reading

Leave a Reply

