Section 60

the wind blows
most days in
section 60
as children &
mothers &
fathers &
wives &
you
leave
small stones
on white marble
so others will know

between the silence
you rub the name
with blue crayola
for the fridge
at home

on the hour
the sobs muffled
by iron bells

you listen
like something will
change

like the wind will
blow it all away

like tears of angels
on white marble
just might
make a difference.

5 Responses to Section 60

  1. Julie says:

    I have read this one several times. Of course, I think it’s excellent. But I can’t even begin to describe the emotion I feel. I’m thinking of something different, but then again, not really. My father was in Korea…he never talked about it at all. I was able to visit the memorial in DC, and it helped me understand him a bit better. My mind leaped from the white stones on blue marble (what an excellent image) to the rubbing of names with crayon…to the statues…to my father. Thank you.

  2. Scot says:

    thanks Julie–they never do

  3. paisley says:

    my benefactor has an amazing rubbing from a grave somewhere in england,, it is huge,, i mean like 8 feet tall,, a knight in shining armor… this was a great verse even if i did come away with a totally off topic comment….

  4. S.L. Corsua says:

    Now this, it (and Julie’s comment above) struck me so strong and with a brimming desire to say something comforting, but I can only offer reverent silence…

Leave a Reply

