Visitation by MK Chavez

Review of Visitation by MK Chavez:  Kendra Steiner Editions  #90
By Scot Young

I have found over the years there are poets that influence.  Poets that spark something we may not even be aware of.  MK Chavez is both of those. I began reading her on the recommendation of William Taylor Jr.  In Visitation, Chavez has another winner.  This time it comes from Kendra Steiner Editions. This chap is definitely one to add to your collection.  The chap’s cover is a picture of an old school deserted hospital, the kind where cries are heard down the hall right before the orderlies are called.  Visitation is a chap length poem in eight parts written in 14 point font that is unusually justified right to the paper.  This contributes to the same unanswered question haunting the adult speaker that haunted the child.  It holds the same feeling one gets when the phone rings at 3 a.m. and you never answer it.

I’ve been looking for the monster
that ate my mother, the one
that’s left me bleeding.  The one
I run from everyday

Chavez tells a story that begins in the gut and hangs there like waiting for the day the ringing stops.

7 Responses to Visitation by MK Chavez

  1. johemmant says:

    Eek, your fonts have gone all funny. But this was an interesting review (though a quote or two from the poems would have been good!), I will look him up. Thanks.

  2. Scot says:

    I will repost but looks fine on this end-MK is Maria–

  3. Julie says:

    Interesting read. Thanks for the info.

  4. christine says:

    I haven’t read too many book-length poems. This one has piqued my curiosity.Who is William Taylor Jr.? Am I very uninformed not to know him? I’m curious as to how you find new collections to read.

  5. christine says:

    OK, I just googled him, and realized he’s a poet. I should remember the old Zen adage to think first, then ask questions.

  6. maurie says:

    Quite a long poem, what an interesting poet./great.

Leave a Reply

