joe the poet

everyone wants to
drink like bukowski
fuck like bukowski
write like bukowski
everyone wants to walk
in bukowski’s shadow
taking the same steps
like marcel marceau
trapped inside a glass box

so you drink wine by the case
nicotine stained fingers
hunt and peck on a
used underwood
but
listening to mozart
getting a blow job
from last night’s hooker
while scratching yr ass
in dirty shorts
doesn’t mean
you can ever
write like bukowski

8 Responses to joe the poet

  1. Julie says:

    SO TRUE! I can’t stand posers…ha! Why can’t people just be themselves? I guess it’s the lack of talent thing. I mean, I like Buk, too, but sheeeeesh. What is up with all the so-called poets out there who are trying to be him? Influence is one thing. We’re all influenced. And yes, he has influenced me, too. But posing just irritates me to no end. And the arrogant ones who are ever so cool, while the rest of us peons spin around them. Don’t get me started!

    This is awesome, Scot. I’d love to hear you read it. That second stanza has sweet rhythm and the details are perfect. I love the used underwood. I also like the marcel marceau line. Mimes in a glass box (I also get a clown image). “Scratching yr ass/ in dirty shorts” is freaking perfect…and made me laugh. I just caught the title. Hilarious!

  2. Vincent says:

    I’m glad you wrote this. I greatly admire Buk myself, on the basis of two books of his short stories and researching a bit more online. Was he more famous for his poetry? I don’t even know, am not much tuned to poetry anyhow.

    There’s a profound fallacy in anyone imitating the man because his style of life in no way defined him; was indeed something to be pitied. What I admire about the man and his writing is not something I can explain. But one part was his ability to reject pretension. In that, he was the very antithesis of his imitators.

  3. Scot says:

    thanks Julie and Vincent for the comments— 🙂

  4. whypaisley says:

    oh i love this… and believe it or not i have been working out a little bukowski piece myself…

  5. Christine says:

    Wow! This poem comes on like a freight train or a mack truck. It’s nice to read a poem that gets right to the point.

    If I could write like Bukoswki, well, I guess I would. But to drink like him? Never. I’d be long dead.

  6. Dana says:

    “but
    listening to mozart
    getting a blow job
    from last night’s hooker
    while scratching yr ass
    in dirty shorts”

    How’d *you* find out what I did last night?

  7. Scot says:

    thanks all for reading this–
    dana–what can i say?

  8. maurie says:

    Wow, what a powerful impact, so direct and decisive, one of your BEST, Scot.

Leave a Reply

