does place matter?

You can always tell when I return to our place in the hills.  It is reflected in some way in my writing.  Place does affect the way I write, maybe the tone and always has an influence.  Does place matter in your work?

11 Responses to does place matter?

  1. whypaisley says:

    definitely.. but in a very different sense… i can only write in one place and under strict circumstances… it hinders me in many ways as it doesn’t allow for much outside stimulation,, thus everything seems to gravitate around the same center…

  2. Julie says:

    Hell, yeah! But I define place differently. Place is not necessarily where I’m at. For me, place is roots. Deep, deep roots. The landscape of my life, my soul.

    I have only recently begun writing about where I live now. Probably because I may be moving this year. There’s a love here, too. This place has formed roots on my soul.

    When I take trips to other places, there may be small echoes of that place in my work. But my main words come from the love of landscape I know and a love of the people formed by the landscape. If I meet someone in another place who leaves an impression in my mind, I’m more apt to put that person in a place I know.

    Great questions, Scot. You’re getting me wound up again.

  3. christine says:

    Yes, place is important. I like to locate my stories and poems in a specific place, with a name, a definite geographic location. When I do name a place, it usually ends up being somewhere around where I’ve lived most of my life, in the outskirts of Atlanta. But even if the place is made up, I usually imagine either Atlanta, or a town outside of Atlanta.

  4. Vincent says:

    Hi Scot, important question and as comments to date show, one whose answer can be varied and complex. To me it raises the mysterious question of inspiration, because both place and time seem to influence the invisible wisps of feeling and sensual appreciation that go through one’s consciousness, that one wants to capture in one’s writing, if one in any way intends to be a poet (as opposed to a writer of verse). I think I could only answer it in a series of essays. Thanks for the prompt!

  5. maurie says:

    This has great implications for reflection about what really is important to us, location,landscapes,people, Relationships ,travel, work ,and a sence of appreciation of who we are / fantastic piece.

  6. place plays a huge part in my poetry, I feel its very important.

  7. Scot says:

    i think it defines me–sometimes i can ignore it, but it creeps back in as it has never left.

  8. Alexa Cohen says:

    For me it’s not the place, but the hour. I usually work better at night.

  9. Vincent says:

    Encouraged by you in a comment which seems to have disappeared, I’ve dedicated a first attempt to look at the influence of place on thought: http://perpetual-lab.blogspot.com/2008/11/valley-reverie.html

  10. Vincent says:

    Encouraged by you in a comment which seems to have disappeared, I’ve dedicated a first attempt to look at the influence of place on thought. On my post “Valley reverie” today.

  11. Scot says:

    Vincent
    I have not erased anything?

Leave a Reply

