Happy Thanksgiving

clara11We spent the day with family enjoying the dinner and the beautiful day.  I especially loved the time spent with Auntie Clara–is there a story in this face or what?

This angel is full of stories about growing up on the plains of Wyoming during cattle roundups before dirt roads when there was only wide spots.  She told me of hauling in enough rock by horse drawn wagon to build a stone house.  She spoke of how her family hitched up the wagon and drove it to Chugwater, Wyoming, housed the horses in the stable and from there took the train to Cheyenne.
She stated that the women in her family once they reached 90 never knew how to die and we are glad of that stubbornness.  Clara is 94 and sometimes lets her pet raccoons into her kitchen to share her meals on wheels that are delivered daily to her.  I asked her if she had any regrets?

“Not a damn one.  I have always done as I pleased”

9 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Kim says:

    what spirit… a great role model for your daughers :D. Happy thanks giving to you too!

  2. novice101 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  3. johemmant says:

    Fabulous. What a thing to be able to say, I’ve always done as I pleased. Great photo.

  4. artpredator says:

    Auntie Clara has beautiful hands as well! They tell so many stories, those hands, and they way they hold her face is lovely.

  5. Holly D says:

    Yay Auntie Clara!!!!

  6. Vincent says:

    The image of your Aunt Clara, so feral yet coquettish with that assertion “I’ve always done as I pleased” has stayed with me since you published it a few days ago. A little nugget of inspiration.

  7. malablogger says:

    What fantastic spirit , such inspiration.**

  8. novice101 says:

    Scot, Very sorry to have given you the wrong link. This time it should be right:

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-gratefulness/

Leave a Reply

