Dear Dad

Dear Dad
I found these poems in mom’s things many years after you both passed.  She never gave them to you but tucked them away with old bank statements and keepsakes. So now, I will put them in this bottle and throw it out into this night, hoping one day you will find it.  And it is my hope that if you are with her on this cold February, you will hold her close as if you never left.
Miss you,
Scot

I Wanted to See You Again
I Loved You

I am the one who loved you…
a love so deep from its start
that the passing of years & the teardrops
cannot dim its glow in my heart

I am the one who loves you…
a love that is like a flower
that blooms always in my memory
as I live again some perfect hours

I am the one who lost you…
even teardrops can give no relief
for only shadows surround me
as I live alone in my grief

Yes, I am the one who loves you…
my love is the one that lives on
for you are forever beside me
though I know you are gone.

Someday
When I called you that day I was lonesome
and I longed for the sound of your voice
for just one little word that you speak
can make my whole life rejoice.

Then today when I saw you again
I should have known at the start
that always, along with the gladness & joy
I’ll be left with a pain in my heart

Someday I know I will learn to forget
and dreams will die with the years…
then I can sleep again as before
on a pillow not wet with tears

–Catherine B. Young
1922-1993

8 Responses to Dear Dad

  1. Holly D says:

    Oh Scot. I’m glad you put these up.

  2. That was truly beautiful and moving. Your mother was an amazing poet herself!

  3. whypaisley says:

    wow scot,, this is such an amazing piece of work.. thanks for including it here so they we could share in its ever thoughtful beauty…..

  4. Scot says:

    Sumedh
    sad thing is i never knew she wrote poems

  5. johemmant says:

    What wonderful things to have. Beautiful.

  6. maurie says:

    Gosh, it must be one of the best pieces that I have read for a very long time , so beautiful.

  7. rob kistner says:

    Greetings – I invite you to stop by Image & Verse and say hello.

  8. Julie says:

    Scot, you’re making me cry. This is so beautiful. So wonderful. Now I know where you get your talent. How well you describe your feelings upon finding the poems. I know they’re together right now.

    It’s great to see you again.

Leave a Reply

