Charles Bukowski’s Bluebird

I wish I had written this–one of my favorites of his.

7 Responses to Charles Bukowski’s Bluebird

  1. johemmant says:

    Oh oh oh……..I love that poem, love it, I read it a couple of times before but I’ve never heard him read it and that makes a BIG difference, though it’s pretty close to perfection already. That is his defining poem, if you ask me.

  2. Scot says:

    poetry should be heard

  3. whypaisley says:

    whoa… that is intensely powerful… and the voice over makes it inescapable…. bravo!!!

  4. Vincent says:

    I wrote a comment to this. Was it censored?

  5. Vincent says:

    Apologies for my last remark. I cannot imagine you censoring even my wildest comments. must have forgotten to press a button. Or commented on the wrong post. I’d said something like:

    “I never heard Buk’s voice before. He sounds delightfully unpretentious, with the sincerity that shines through words I’d only seen on a page before. Since we don’t have bluebirds over here, I can only imagine what they symbolize. But that is perhaps true of all poetry. We can only imagine.”

  6. Scot says:

    Thanks Vincent
    I would love for you to take the challenge–

  7. […] couple of months ago,, scot,, the author of be not inhospitable to strangers issued a writing challenge. he asked us to listen to charles bukowski’s oration of a piece he wrote entitled […]

Leave a comment